Active Active   Unanswered Unanswered

Winterization Proceedure

Winterizing? Summerizing? Covering? Trailering? If it is about a boat out of water put it here.

Moderators: Don Ayers, Al Benton, Don Vogt

GWelty

Winterization Proceedure

Post by GWelty » Fri Nov 04, 2016 10:38 pm

I want to winterize my 1956 Continental. It has twin in line sixes and I have been told that they are Hercules engines. Does anyone have the proceedures for winterizing these engines? Thanks, Gary

Don Vogt
Club Executive Team

Re: Winterization Proceedure

Post by Don Vogt » Thu Nov 10, 2016 10:30 am

I see no one has responded to this yet,and you no doubt want some info. I am no expert but there are several threads here that you can search on for help on this. Depending on model there should be some drain plugs in the engine block to remove and a water hose intake to disconnect from the water pump. also a drain plug under the water pump. Disconnect the battery. Ideally put the battery on a trickle charger during the winter. Drain the gasoline out of the carburator. Put gas stabilizer in the gas tank.

Also a good idea to change the oil at that time before winter storage. Some change spark plugs now to be ready to go in the spring. If you are a member of a local acbs chapter, there should be those who can give you more specific advice. I always go up and down a hill before putting the boat away to make sure any last water will drain out.

Another issue is protecting the inside of the engine from rust. There was a recent discussion of that here, too. Several different ways to do that.

Remove drain plug from bottom of bilge. depending on seat design, you may want to remove some cushions, bottom pads, etc. to allow air to flow more freely during the winter to the bilge area.
1938 Chris Craft 17' Deluxe Runabout "Jennifer II"

mbigpops

Post by mbigpops » Thu Nov 10, 2016 1:15 pm

I did my first winterize on my KL this year.