Active Active   Unanswered Unanswered

Generator overcharging after switch to 8 volts?

Your old Chris-Craft electrical system can be a challenge. If it runs on "juice" pose your questions and offer your advice here.

Moderators: Don Ayers, Al Benton, Don Vogt

scottz

Generator overcharging after switch to 8 volts?

Post by scottz » Thu Aug 01, 2013 2:39 pm

I've got a '56 Sportsman that's been very hard to start. I'm new to this, and on the advice of friends, switched to an 8 volt battery. The boat now starts and runs wonderfully, but the ammeter quickly pegs at 20 amps at anything over 1,000 rpm (estimated - a new tach cable is on the to-do list). Even with the lousy old 6 volt battery, I've not seen this before.

Any ideas what's going on? I don't want to cook a new, and rather expensive, new battery.

mfine

Re: Generator overcharging after switch to 8 volts?

Post by mfine » Fri Aug 02, 2013 6:34 am

Was the battery fully charged before you put it in? It could take a while to get the battery to full if it wasn't.

mbigpops

Post by mbigpops » Fri Aug 02, 2013 8:17 am

I have not gotten to gauges yet but if your type may be designed specifically for 6 volts and not read correctly with your new 8 volt setup.

You may want to contact one of the recommended gauge restorers and ask the question.

Mark
1953 CC Rocket Runabout "Rocket Man"

sproat3

Post by sproat3 » Mon Aug 05, 2013 12:42 am

Scottz-

Your ammeter is probably right. You didn't say if you replaced your alternator or voltage regulator, but you probably didn't as I don;t know where you would find 8V generator and regulator.